29
May
10

miss sophia fired from v103!!!

V-103 has not renewed the contract of Miss Sophia (nee Joe Taylor), who was part of the Frank and Wanda morning show.

In an interview today, Miss Sophia said he wasn’t given any real reason why the station chose to drop him beyond “we want to go in a different direction.” That’s the equivalent of saying, “It’s not you, it’s me” in personal relationships.

Miss Sophia was the first drag queen to be a regular on Atlanta radio. He spent more than four years at V-103 doing the entertainment report when Frank and Wanda remained the dominant No. 1 show in the city.

His closer has become a classic: “When I talk, you talk, we talk, that’s girrrrrl talk on the people’s station, V to the 103.” He trills the “three” with gusto.

“I’m not shocked,” Miss Sophia said. He said he saw the signs that things were coming to an end but didn’t get into details. (I’m in New York today and he was leaving town, so we’ll try to meet next week and talk in more detail.)

I left messages with Frank Ski and Wanda Smith. No responses yet.

“I’m emotionally okay,” Miss Sophia said. “I’m going to weigh my options. I can do movies. I can do TV. I can do radio.”

“I grew as a person,” he added. “I learned a lot. I met a lot of people and appreciate the relationships I built. But I’m excited about the future, too.” I think everyone will miss Miss Sophia on the Frank and Wanda Morning Show! From what I have read, Miss Sophia was the only reason alot of people listened to the show! Hopefully she can  get back on her feet and find her place at another radio show!

Source

11 Responses to “miss sophia fired from v103!!!”


  1. 1 Roberta
    July 2, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Ms. Sophia was the main reason I would listen to the Morning show. Frankly, Ryan should have the morning show. V-103 has made a wrong turn in their “different direction”.

  2. 2 ahlohn fowler
    July 15, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    don’t want to leave much info miss sophia saved my life, i was going to dye at one point it was the beginning of my chemo i really like miss sophia but god will send something for her, what God has for you Miss Sophia no man can take away, remember that, thank you for helping me i know listen to 105.7 and all my friends

  3. 3 puny2cute
    July 22, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Well she is being missed it seem like if you get more popular then Wanda and Frank the station goes in another direction…ask Gruff formally of v103……you do the math….

  4. 4 sexychic
    July 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I’m not feeling the “Bust It” report. I used to run to my car in the morning just to here Miss Sophia. The show is boring now. Bring Miss Sophia back now!

  5. 5 atlfinest
    July 31, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Miss Sophia was the only reason why I listen to v103. I don’t like to listen to frank or wanda. So since Miss Sophia was stabbed in the back I listen to hot 107.9 Rickey Smiley in the morning. Until Miss Sophia comes back, my radio station is glued to another station.

  6. 6 prcaramel
    August 10, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Bad move. I think that Ryan should have the morning spot. I am so over Frank Ski…ughhhh so past his prime…NEXT!!! I do not know many people who still listen to Frank and Wanda in the morning. We would much rather just pop in a CD or plug in the MP3 player for the morning ride.

  7. 7 jade222
    August 18, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Just want to say that V to the 103 is now BORING!!! Miss Sophia was definitely a hit with me in the morning. Kept me in stitches while on my way to work. Wanda, Frank, & El—Blah Blah Blah. Hopefully Miss Sophia will find another station to broadcast from because with the exception of a couple radio show hosts, V103 now sucks! All the best to you Miss Sophia!!!

  8. 8 antonellebaby
    September 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Elle is ok..she gets on my nerves sometimes……….I MISS, SOphia so much it aint the same….and I hate the bust it song WTH…Even if you dont get sophia please do something about Elle…its awful……

  9. 9 rea24
    October 7, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I really do like Ms Sophia and jophia early in the morning. I think they should bring him back.

  10. 10 wabenze
    October 25, 2010 at 4:20 am

    FRANK SKI USED TO BE REALLY GOOD AT FIRST HAND ,WHEN HE GOT TO THE STATION. HE WAS TALKING ABOUT THE PEOPLES AGENDA. HIS MORNING SHOW PRODUCER TARI THOMAS WAS VERY VERY VERY GOOD.
    I USED TO DO COURIER SERVICES AND EVERY OFFICE I GO TO IN THE MORNING WILL HAVE V-103 ON.
    NINA BROWN IS NOT GOOD, AND THUS THE PROBLEM.
    FRANK PLEASE PLEASE, GET BACK TO YOUR OLD DAYS STYLE WITH TARI THOMAS, BEFORE YOU START LOOSING YOUR LISTERNS. GOOD LUCK.

  11. 11 lawanda morrison
    October 27, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I miss Ms.Sophie she he was great I do like Elle I was just wondering what happened I hadn’t heard anything about Ms.Sophie.


Leave a Reply

If you are looking for all the hottest urban news and chances to win prizes then you better hit that subscribe button!

Join 16 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

